Upskill 2024: Multicloud Certifications on Cisco U

In an era where cloud computing has become the backbone of enterprise IT infrastructure, we cannot overstate the significance of a robust security posture that evolves with emerging technologies.

Cisco recognizes the multifaceted nature of today’s cloud environments and has taken a step forward with three new certifications designed to empower IT professionals across the full lifecycle of multicloud ecosystems. These groundbreaking certifications are created to address the three pillars of cloud mastery: connecting to the cloud, securing the cloud, and monitoring the cloud. In this blog, I’ll focus on the certification that involves securing the cloud.

Securing the cloud

The new Cisco Secure Cloud Access (SCAZT) Specialist Certification dives into the heart of cloud security. As threats become more sophisticated and regulatory demands become stricter, this certification underscores the importance of a security-first approach.

As Cisco’s first-ever Professional-level cloud security certification, this certification is aimed at network engineers, cloud administrators, security analysts, and other IT professionals. And it validates the skills necessary to secure cloud environments effectively.

While the SCAZT exam contains the basics of cloud architecture (you can find its concepts in most cloud deployments), the thing that makes this certification unique is it uses the Cisco equipment and portfolio that some infrastructures already have in their network to secure their cloud.

Plus, the certification is part of the cloud lifecycle—connecting, securing, and monitoring the infrastructure. Most companies cover a single component. But Cisco covers all three elements. So, when you are certified in the security aspect in conjunction with the other two cloud certifications, you can be assured you’re covering the whole cloud lifecycle.

CCNP Security certification alignment

This new cloud security certification is also part of the CCNP Security certification track. This means you can receive a standalone Specialist certification, or combine this cert with the Implementing and Operating Cisco Security Core Technologies (SCOR) exam to earn the CCNP Security certification, which also counts toward recertification and Continuing Education (CE) credits.

Explore CCNP Security certification and training on Cisco U. >>

Inside the 300-740 SCAZT exam 

Cisco certification exam topics are designed to group topics logically. When you follow the domains and tasks during your studies, you’ll get a comprehensive understanding, plus it connects the chapters you need to study.

The SCAZT 300-740 exam covers cloud security architecture, user and device security, network and cloud security, application and data security, visibility and assurance, and threat response.

Exam topics for the 300-740 SCAZT exam
Download exam topics >>

Cisco exam topics emphasize hands-on technical questions, theoretical concepts, and critical thinking, always from a job role perspective. The certification focuses primarily on the following protocols, architectures, technologies, and platforms:

Training from Cisco U.

Cisco U. has launched a new Learning Path that’s designed to match the SCAZT exam and provide you with the best possible experience. It requires around 48 hours to complete, eligible for 40 CE credits.

You can watch presentations about concepts, complete hands-on labs, and review designs and examples. At the end of each topic, an assessment is available to test your knowledge.

Get free access to Track 1: Cloud Security Architectures now and access free learning:

Designing and Implementing Secure Cloud Access for Users and Endpoints | SCAZT Learning Path

Cloud Security job roles

Since most applications and infrastructures are moving to the cloud, if you’re working in a role where cloud concepts are included (whether in an on-premises or hybrid environment), you’re going to need security in every shape and form.

Network security engineers will especially find this certification valuable because it focuses on protocols, architectures, technologies, and platforms relevant to their jobs.

Possible job roles where this certification applies are:

  • Cloud Security Architect
  • Cloud Security Engineer
  • Cloud Security Advisor
  • Cloud Solutions Architect
  • Cloud Architect
  • Cloud Associate
  • Cloud Engineer
  • Security Administrator
  • Security Architect
  • Security Consultant
  • Security Engineer
  • Security Manager
  • Systems Architect
  • Systems Engineer
  • Network Security Engineer
  • Security Project Manager

Now’s the time to start preparing for the Cisco Secure Cloud Access Specialist certification. Just download the exam topics, complete the SCAZT Learning Path, and take the exam. What better way to be on your way to a new cloud security career? Get started on Cisco Multicloud Specialist certifications >>



Thanks for reading! If you’re interested in this new multicloud security certification from Cisco, let me know in the comments below—and if there is any way that I can help you along in your Cisco certification journey. Happy learning!


Sign up for Cisco U. | Join the  Cisco Learning Network today for free.

Follow Cisco Learning & Certifications

X | Threads | Facebook | LinkedIn | Instagram | YouTube

Use  #CiscoU and #CiscoCert to join the conversation.


Navigating the Multicloud Journey with Cisco’s New Certifications [Infographic]



George Koukis

Software Engineering Technical Leader

Learning and Certifications