The U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) has approved the Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) Cyber Ops certification program for anyone who works in a Cyber Security Service Provider (CSSP) analyst or incident responder role.

Cybersecurity provides the critical foundation organizations require to protect themselves, enable trust, move faster, add greater value and grow. This is especially true at the Department of Defense, one of the largest employers in the world and one committed to addressing global security threats.

As a leading technology company on the list of approved certifications required for anyone who works for the DoD in a CSSP analyst or incident responder role, Cisco’s accreditation offers new possibilities for security professionals and government employees. They will learn straight from the source, Cisco, and get comprehensive hands-on training.

It’s also a powerful validation for current certification holders and individuals working toward achieving the CCNA Cyber Ops certification.

“As the digital battlefield expands and becomes more complex, cyber security training is top of mind for Defense,” said Carl De Groote, senior director of U.S. Defense Department programs at Cisco. “The inclusion of CCNA CyberOps in the DoD’s list of validated certifications gives Cisco certification-holders even more opportunities to protect our nation on the cyber-physical & digital battlefield.”

The CCNA CyberOps Certification

The CCNA Cyber Ops certification program prepares individuals with foundational knowledge and skills needed to secure critical networks. They gain a basic understanding of how a security operations center (SOC) team detects and responds to incidents. They also learn how to protect an organization’s information from modern threats.

The program focuses on security principles and technologies, using security products to provide hands-on examples. It’s a valuable first step to launch a career in cybersecurity operations.

Other DoD-Approved Cisco Certifications

Cisco’s certification program covers the DoD’s CSSP analyst and incident responder categories in addition to all three Information Assurance Technician (IAT) levels. The CCNA Cyber Ops certification joins two other DoD-accredited certifications, the CCNA and CCNP Security.

The forefront of cybersecurity

With three DoD-approved certifications, Cisco puts you on the forefront of cybersecurity. For more information on how to take your career to the next level with our CCNA Cyber Ops certification program, click here.



James Risler

Senior Manager, Security Content Engineering

Learning & Development