Cisco Blogs


Cisco Blog > DigMediaRev

An Update: Warner Music Group, Cisco Eos and Lupe Fiasco

Yesterday, Warner Music Group launched its latest Cisco EosTM-powered site for hip hop star Lupe Fiasco.

www.LupeFiasco.com

Lupe’s site represents the 20th Eos site for WMG, and the 18th to be launched since August 2009 when Cisco and WMG announced a strategic relationship around the Eos platform.  (see full list of Eos-powered sites at the end of this blog entry)

At the time of the announcement Michael Nash, Executive Vice President, Digital Strategy and Business Development noted that WMG was able to launch new sites 5x faster using Eos than other solutions – with that productivity, WMG has been able to average launching about 1 site a week since the August announcement.

But media companies need more than just the ability to launch web sites faster.  Media companies need a platform that helps them engage fans, lower technology costs, AND ultimately monetize the experience fans have with branded content.

How is Eos doing on that broader set of issues? 

Edgar Bronfman, Jr., Chairman and CEO of Warner Music Group had this to say during WMG’s Q4 2009 earnings call  on Nov. 24, 2009:

“As we mentioned earlier, we continue to transform our business within the music value chain while broadening our revenue mix in the growing areas of the music business. This remains a key element of our growth strategy and is core to the transformation of our company. Direct-to-consumer or DTC platforms are one of the key paths for partnering with our recording artists to monetize new revenue streams and artist websites remain an essential part of that strategy. Earlier this year, WMG and Cisco developed a partnership initially focused on enhancing our DTC efforts. By leveraging Cisco’s innovative DTC technology, we have begun to more effectively monetize the vibrant relationship between artists and their fans without having to build infrastructure at WMG.

Warner Music is the first entertainment company to use Cisco’s new Eos platform. We have exceeded our goal of launching a dozen Eos artist sites by the end of ’09. We believe our partnership with Cisco will greatly enhance our ability to create, manage, and grow online communities while also increasing opportunities to drive revenue from DTC sales and online advertising around artist content.”

It’s not time to start celebrating and lose focus, but it does indicate what WMG has been able to achieve using the Eos platform.  We look forward to the next 20 sites, and the continuing partnership with Warner Music.

(See below for list of the first 20 WMG sites)

  1. Sean Paul – www.allseanpaul.com
  2. Laura Izibor – www.lauraizibor.com
  3. Trey Songz – www.treysongz.com
  4. Paramore – www.paramore.net
  5. Halestorm – www.halestormrocks.com
  6. Jason Castro  -- www.jasoncastromusic.com        
  7. NeedToBreathe -- www.needtobreathe.net
  8. Uncle Kracker -- www.unclekracker.com
  9. Serena Ryder – www.serenaryder.com
  10. Toni Braxton – www.tonibraxton.com
  11. Mayday Parade – www.maydayparade.com      
  12. Paramore fanclub – www.paramorefanclub.com               
  13. Jason Castro fanclub -- www.jasoncastrofanclub.com     
  14. Cobra Starship – www.cobrastarship.com/
  15. Estelle –www.estellemusic.com/
  16. 3OH!3 – www.3oh3music.com/
  17. Straight No Chaser – www.sncmusic.com/
  18. Sofi Bond – www.sofibonde.com/             
  19. Robert Francis – www.robertfrancisofficial.com/
  20. Lupe Fiasco – www.lupefiasco.com/

In an effort to keep conversations fresh, Cisco Blogs closes comments after 60 days. Please visit the Cisco Blogs hub page for the latest content.

1 Comments.


  1. High performance platform. Good choice by WMG.

       0 likes