Cisco Logo


This weekend, I’m heading to Chicago for the 118th International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) conference and exhibition. Police Chiefs from around the globe will come together to foster the exchange of information and experience among police leaders throughout the world and find solutions to issues they are facing. 

I’m looking forward to seeing the Chiefs and recognizing this years winners and finalists for the IACP Community Policing Awards sponsored by Cisco.  I’m honored to be a part of this initiative and want to congratulate this years winners and finalists.   

If you are not able to attend in person, please join our Community Policing Committee and Cisco IACP Workshop: Policing in the New Normal via WebEx Monday October 24, 1-3pm Central Time or anytime afterwards.  This dynamic information sharing workshop will feature an esteemed panel of law enforcement executives including: 

   Please see below for more information

Each year since 1998 the International Association of Chiefs of Police Community Policing Committee has recognized the best community policing practices of agencies around the world. Entries are categorized by population, featuring innovative ideas utilizing the power of community policing, through collaboration and partnerships, to make local, national and global communities safer from crime and terrorism. This recognition comes in the form of the Community Policing Award from IACP and Cisco.

According to Todd A. Miller, Director of Public Safety, Mankato, MN and Chairperson of the IACP Community Policing Committee, “The philosophy of community policing is more relevant and necessary today than ever before. With resources limited by current economic conditions, the force multiplication agencies receive by implementing the community policing philosophy and partnering with citizens is the most effective means of making our communities safer, whether it be from crime or from terrorism.  We know that you can’t have Homeland Security without the hometown security that comes from police and the community working together. That is why we undertake this tremendous effort each year to recognize the best of the best.”

Since the award’s inception, over 60 Agency Winners and 110 Agency Finalists, from all over the world, have been recognized for their commitment to community policing and innovation.  See highlights from the 2010 IACP Community Policing Awards.  This year’s winners and finalists include:



Stay tuned…I will post highlights videos and photos next week. 

Comments Are Closed

  1. Return to Countries/Regions
  2. Return to Home
  1. All Government
  2. All Security
  3. Return to Home