Cisco Blogs


Cisco Blog > Government

Delegates Converge in Oslo for the Cisco Public Services Summit

Experts in government and technology converged on Oslo today from all over the world for the 2011 Cisco Public Services Summit. We’ll be keeping you updated in this blog as the sessions unfold.

Visitors will likely find it frigid in this friendly, meticulously kept capital city of narrow, icebound streets and twinkling holiday lights. Oslo in mid-December offers visitors only about six hours of daylight. But prospects are bright for an engaging three-day Summit starting Friday. This year has been a bumper year for stories highlighting the evolving relationship between government and its citizens – from the Arab Spring protests and regime changes to the Eurozone debt crisis. (The EU Brussels summit on salvaging the Euro runs concurrently with ours.)

Our theme this year is “Empowering the Edge: Boosting Resiliency and Productivity in the Public Sector.” The Friday plenary session features addresses from former Mexican President Ernesto Zedillo and Martin Stewart-Weeks, senior director of Cisco’s Internet Business Solutions Group. Stewart-Weeks will discuss new pressure on governments to redevelop methods and practices that leverage new communications technology.  The full Summit agenda is here.

One hundred and twenty delegates and 25 presenters are expected to join Cisco in Oslo’s Clarion Royal Christiana Hotel. Technical rehearsals went well today:

You can watch Summit plenary sessions live via the Cisco USTREAM feed. Visit this page to register for access. Friday’s plenary begins at 13:30 Oslo time (GMT+1) – which is 04:30 in Los Angeles, 07:30 in New York, 12:30 in London and 21:30 in Tokyo.  If you cannot join the live feed we will have plenary sessions archived for playback on demand soon after they occur. We’ll also be live-tweeting all plenary sessions and invite you to join using hashtags #21cGov and #CiscoPSS. If you see or read something you want to comment on, we’re watching and updating the Cisco Facebook page on 21st century government: like us at www.facebook.com/21cgov and add your voice.

From Norway… ser deg senere (see you later)!  More soon from PSS 2011.

Comments Are Closed